Is Pokémon Go! excluding people with disabilities?

Interesting thought… what say you?

Pop Culture Uncovered

Let me start by saying, that I am by no means a Pokémon Go! player. As I have written in the past, I’ve never been a fan of the franchise.  Being a gamer with a disability, however, I feel that I have to comment on a recent topic of discussion about certain aspects of Pokémon Go!.

I recently read an article on The Daily Dot, which got me thinking about how the recent trend of augmented reality (AR) games like Ingress and Pokémon Go! may affect those with physical disabilities. The mechanics of Pokémon Go! require players to move around their IRL environments in order to capture pokémon who exist within the AR of the game.  In addition to that, players must also walk X number of kilometers (it’s different for every class of pokémon) in order to hatch the eggs of their captured creatures.  Objectives like these…

View original post 476 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

